“Teacher, please will you do us the honor…” A reflection by Liz Saccone (Lexington)

Due to the manner in which I was invited I couldn’t possibly say no. “Teacher, please will you do us the honor of your presence in our home for a meal. My wife, she is a good cook and we would like to thank you for everything you do for our daughter.”
And so… Today, about an hour after school, I locked up my classroom and walked down the street to their nearby apartment, uncertain of what I had gotten myself into.
Three freshly showered beautiful children greeted me at the door… The oldest, my second grader, effervesced as she proudly showed me their two bedroom apartment. She showed me their books, including the ones I had given her and a couple of old science textbooks that her dad had picked up at the thrift store from which he showed me the vocabulary he was learning that was highlighted in yellow- “weather map” and “space probe”. She showed me where she keeps her school things, and where her brother keeps his. When she showed me her clothes, I had to look twice because there were so few, and yet I thought how darling she looks every day. The house was sparsely furnished, but what they had was clean and neat and meaningful.
I had to hold back tears as I looked at the bounty of food they had made… Just for my visit. Knowing that I was a vegetarian, they had made special dishes. I ate until I couldn’t eat another thing! The father informed me before we started, “You can use a fork, but I cleaned my hands and in Afghanistan this is how we do it!” and he ate with his hands!
We talked of why they left Afghanistan (he had been a translator for the military hospital and was warned that he was at high risk remaining in the country) We spoke of politics and changing borders, and religion (they speak Farsi and are Muslim), the cost of rent, the special dishes they made, and hopes for their family. He lovingly encouraged his wife to speak English and said, “In America they let you make mistakes and no one laughs.”
We moved to the living room and had tea and pastries and nuts and berries… And more talk…
I watched the love that they had for each other and it was tangible.
I left with a full belly and a heart and soul that were overflowing.

Liz Saccone, Teacher
Lexington Elementary